Asuu strike again 😩


A.B.U joining Asuu a curse or a blessing.

The Brief history of ASUU in A.B.U

The Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) began as an Association of University Teachers (AUT). It was registered in 1978 as Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) under its first President Dr. Biodun Jeyifor (University of Ibadan) with branches in many Federal Universities. Later, State Universities were also given Chapter by the union. Other National Presidents since then were: Dr. Festus Iyayi (University of Benin), Dr. Mahmoud Tukur (Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria), Dr. Attahiru mahmoud Jega (Bayero University, Kano), Dr. Asisi Asobie (University of Nigeria, Nsukka), Dr. Oladiop Fashina (2000-2004, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife), Dr. Abdullahi Sule-Kano (2004-2008, Usman Danfodio University, Sokoto), Prof. Ukachukwu Awuzie (2008-2012, Imo State University, Owerri) and Dr. Nasir Isah Fagge (2012, Beyero University, Kano).

The Branch in Ahmadu Bello University began its activities in 1982 and subsequently the Union developed under different leadership to be a vanguard for the quest for due process in the University, Justice and accountability. Through its activities the branch had reasons to disagree on different issues with several of the University’s Vice Chancellors and Governing Councils, all in a bid to bring progress to the University System and develop education in general.

The Activities of the ASUU-ABU Branch are conducted not in isolation but always in agreement with the National body and in consonance with the principles of the Union in general, as enshrined in its constitution. The branch contributes financially to the national body monthly check-off dues, sixty percent of which goes by the national body. The Union, both at the local and national levels relies solely on which contributions by members to fund all activities and therefore receives no donations from governments or private agencies.

The Union has gradually grown to affect all its members in the areas of welfare, salaries,human rights, and gender appreciation.

The Secretariat of the ASUU-ABU Branch was first located near the basketball court facing Amina Hall. With the construction of the Kontagora Square, the ASUU Secretariat moved to its present location beside the Security Division, opposite the Faculty of Arts. The motto of the union is “Knowledge Truth, Service”.

Increasingly and over the years, the Uion has become a household name both locally and nationally because of its persistent effort to fight for the improvement of government funding to education, increase in teaching facilities, staff and student accommodation, free tuition and general welfare of University workers and Nigerians in general. ASUU, therefore, stands for the principle of natural justice and the rule of law. And as a trade Union in Nigeria, it is affiliated to the Nigerian Labour Congress (NLC).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here